Banana and Chocolate cake

I had an urge for muffins this weekend. The problem is I don’t have any muffin tins. So I took one of the best chocolate muffin recipes (according to the votes on Tasty Kitchen) and I transformed it to a cake recipe instead. You can see the original recipe by Alison of the Prairie Story and the comments here on Tasty Kitchen or on her blog.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup White Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla
  • 4 whole Bananas, Mashed
  • ¾ cups Buttermilk milk (I don’t know what buttermilk is, we don’t use it much here in Spain – or Greece)
  • 1 cup Margarine, Melted
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda 3 more teaspoons of Baking Powder (I didn’t have any baking soda and found this is approximately the equivalence with baking powder)
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Cinnamon
  • 1 cup Coconut Sweetened, Shredded added walnuts instead
  • 1 cup Chocolate Chips

RESULT

The results is a cake with an intense taste of banana. It is good, according to Edu “soooo good!” (well, he likes everything I make so I cannot take him seriously). I think it will be perfect for breakfast tomorrow with a glass of milk or coffee. Now I had too much of it so I cannot think clearly🙂 Next time I should maybe try to bake it a little less time (I baked it for almost 50 min.)

FINAL GRADE

I would grade it with a 4, since it is good but I miss something on the cake texture (it is a bit moist and dense, not enough fluffy) and flavor, which could be due to the banana inside (I have never tasted a banana cake before). Although I think the type of flour and eggs used affect also a lot on the final cake taste.

 

Leave a Reply

