Pasta Flora

Last night was “castanyada” in Catalunya, the eve before All Saints day (1st of November, that is today), which is a national festivity in Spain and many other countries, dedicated to the departed souls. So yesterday, I should have been actually sunday-baking the traditional sweets for this day:

These pretty little things are called panellets and the main ingredient is almond, although they come in many forms: with marmalade, nuts, chocolate, lemon, pine nuts etc. The ones you see on the photo are not my creation, I bought them yesterday morning, that’s why they look -and taste- so good. They are a bit complicated to make so I left this recipe for next year.

What I did bake today is a “greek” dessert called Pasta Flora, using a recipe my friend Bibian has given me. I have to admin however that this dessert looks suspiciously similar to an italian dessert called Crostata. So don’t ask me if it is really greek or not, I have no idea!

Here goes the recipe:

INGREDIENTS

  • 500gr. flour (I have used a bit less, around 450grams)
  • 16gr. baking powder
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 250gr. margarine
  • 1 tablespoon brandy/cognac
  • 1 teaspoon of orange or lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 cups of jam

HOW YOU DO IT

In a bowl, mix together flour and baking powder.

Using a mixer, mix well together margarine with sugar, then add egg, cognac and orange peel. Add flour mix and work all together until you have the dough.

Place dough in a tart pan, keeping 1/3 of it to make the stripes that go on top. Add jam, then the stripes, and bake at preheated oven for around 30min. at 175°C.

RESULT

Mmmmm!!! The orange peel in the dough makes it smell really nice!! And it tastes gooood! The only thing I would change would be to use strawberry jam, so as to have a nicer contrast with its intense red color for the pictures (I used peach jam, which is also yummy). Final grade: a 5!

2 thoughts on “Pasta Flora

  1. Pingback: Panellets | Sunday Baking

Leave a Reply

