Simple cake with nutella

The cake recipe I have used for this dessert is my mum’s basic cake recipe. You can do many variations on it, either adding nuts or chocolate chips before baking, or by filling it and decorating it with chocolate, marmalade or fresh fruit and cream after baking. My mum also uses this recipe to make the basis for tiramisu, and it turns out delicious (although not very traditional italian). This reminds me to make some tiramisu soon, it is my second favorite sweet in the world! (I have a serious addiction to apple pies, especially to austrian strudel). Back to today’s cake, this is perfect with coffee for breakfast (which is how I ate it this morning). Note: I used half of this mix for today’s cake.

INGREDIENTS

  • 500gr. self-raising flour
  • 250gr. margarine (or oil or butter)
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • 4-5 eggs (my mum uses 6 but I think they are too many)
  • 1 cup of milk (you can use orange juice instead)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla or zest of two oranges

INSTRUCTIONS

Beat together margarine with sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one by one and keep beating. Add flour, milk and orange peel and mix slowly.

Preheat the oven to 180°C and bake cake for around 40-50 minutes. (after the first half hour turn a bit down the heat to 160°C). Do not open the oven during baking!! The cake is baked when you stick a knife in it and the knife comes out clean.

Decorate as you wish. I have cut it in half, added nutella in the middle and powdered sugar on top.

RESULT

One of the few moments that I can photograph the entire cake.

Then it starts disappearing really fast!

Especially if it is Sunday morning and you have one hungry boyfriend waiting for his breakfast.

Well, in fact this was my portion… didn’t last long either.

It won’t last two days. But it’s not our fault!! It is the chocolate in the middle that is calling us (“Eat me, eat me!”).

Leave a Reply

