Strawberry and chocolate birthday cake

Last Wednesday it was my birthday!

And I really wanted to make something more special this time than a “simple” tiramisu (by the way, I love tiramisu!). So I came up with the following birthday cake, combination of various recipes I have found in the blogs I read: cake based on the “magdalenas” (mini cakes) recipe I have been trying these past few weeks, chocolate frosting based on the lemon cake with chocolate frosting recipe, and simple strawberry jam filling with my mothers secret ingredient on it.

INGREDIENTS

For the cake:

  • 2 eggs
  • 175g sugar
  • 60ml milk
  • 190g oil
  • 210g flour
  • 2 teaspoons of honey
  • 5g baking powder Royal
  • a bit of salt
  • zest from one lemon or orange

I doubled the ingredients of this recipe and then used 2/3 of the mixture for the main cake and the rest 1/3 to bake some extra mini cakes. I found the mixture to be a bit more “liquid” this time, took longer to bake.

For the chocolate frosting:

  • 220gr. confectioner’s sugar (I used a bit less)
  • 50gr unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 80gr. unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 tablespoons whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt (didn’t add this)
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the strawberry filling:

  • 1 jar of strawberry jam
  • some liqueur or brandy/cognac (I used my mother’s homemade pomegranate liquor which is yummy!!)

You mix the jam with 5-6 tablespoons if liqueur, this makes the jam more juicy in order to moist the cake base and gives an extra nice taste.

Extra strawberries for decorating.

RESULT

I was very happy with the result, and everyone liked it! I think next time I will try a different chocolate frosting cause although this one tasted good, it had something weird in the texture (or maybe I should beat more the ingredients to mix the sugar better). Check also here or here or here for some more chocolate cream/frosting ideas (the first one, the sacher cake, looks to die for!)

Thank you all guys for sharing this special day with me!

2 thoughts on “Strawberry and chocolate birthday cake

  1. Felicitats!!!!
    T’ha quedat un pastís d’aniversari sensacional, la xocolata i la maduixa lliguen molt bé. I la cobertura també t’ha quedat molt bé, segur que era boníssima.

Leave a Reply

