Sara de xocolata negra

Sugar shock.

This week my diet is 80% based on sugar.

  • Sunday: cupcakes (see previous post).
  • Monday: cupcakes leftovers.
  • Tuesday: Vanessa celebrating her new job with a Barça themed cake + Simon bringing a huge bag of chocolate cookies from Germany.
  • Wednesday: Edu’s birthday celebration with a dark chocolate cake!
  • Thursday: Finishing a box of chocolates our friends gave to Edu… and Simon’s cookies… and Vanessa’s cake…

You see where I’m going? Serious problems guys!!

Anyway, in order to celebrate Edu’s birthday I decided to try a dessert I saw in one of Pep Nogué’s cooking classes, which many of us attended last month. You can actually see the same recipe here, very nicely explained and with beautiful photos. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any time to take a photo cause the cake disappeared before my eyes in more or less 5 seconds. This is the best I could do with my mobile and with the few time I had.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 100 gr sugar
  • 100 gr dark chocolate
  • 100 gr butter (softened, room temperature)
  • 100 gr almond flour
  • 25 gr plain flour
  • 12 gr Baking Powder
  • 4 egg whites
For the topping:
  • 100 gr butter (softened)
  • 100 gr sugar
  • 50 ml water
  • 100 gr almonds, sliced

RESULT

I was very happy with the result, this is a really good cake.

At first, I was a bit disappointed during baking, cause the cake had initially doubled in size and then puf! deflated again, so I thought it was gonna be a disaster, but it was equally tasty.

Then, I though that the topping was not as creamy as it should be, but it actually tasted great after a day at the fridge. I prefer this topping much more than the one we used last week for the cupcakes, cause you can’t feel the sugar grains in your mouth (since you melt the sugar in syrup before adding to the butter) and it doesn’t taste that sweet. I think Pep told us that we could also mix it with two egg whites whipped, probably this would make an even lighter and more creamy topping, I will try it next time for the cupcakes.

Anyway, I will give 10 points to both the Sara cake and Pep himself for his great cooking class and many useful tricks and tips! I am already registered for next month’s class (13th of January), stay tuned for new recipes!

One thought on “Sara de xocolata negra

  1. Això sí que és una bona dieta! Je je je…
    T’ha quedat un pastís fantàstic, i la foto està molt bé😉
    Les receptes del Pep Nogué tenen l’èxit assegurat!

Leave a Reply

